Week 1 First Attempts

The following photos are from the first photography practical of the semester. They demonstrate my first attempts at using the manual mode on the camera where I manually change the ISO, shutter speed and aperture values to achieve different affects.

To experiment with the camera, I took the values to the extreme to notice their different outcomes.

dsc_5035-choose

dsc_5056-choose

To achieve the effect of the extremely over-exposed sky, I used a very slow shutter speed to let more light into the lens. Due to the camera not being on a tripod, the first image is blurred and unfocused because the shutter speed was slow and I moved during the capturing of the image. I think the effect looks interesting because there is an unnatural quality to the over-exposure and blur which contrasts with the natural setting of the forest.

dsc_5054-choose

To compare, this image was taken with a much faster shutter speed, thus achieving a darker and more oppressive looking photograph of the same forest.

Reducing the ISO value can also have an effect on the lightness of an image as photographs taken in bright daylight seem much more oppressive and depressing, as shown through the photos I captured of these cows.

Leave a comment